Discussion

I was asked to submit four letters of recommendation for a part-time job.

a month ago

|

I recently applied for a part-time entry-level office assistant job for a company with under 20 people. The job description said it was ok to have no experience as they'll train you. I am also a current student in college so I thought this would be a good fit as the hours were later in the day while my classes are in the morning. I was contacted right away, the same day I applied and had two interviews back to back. The interviewer seemed to really like me. However, I noticed a few things in my interviews. The interviewer asked why I wasn't employed during the school year and only during summer breaks. I transferred schools, one closer to home where I commute from home. My previous school was in a different part of the state and isolated. I didn't have a car, there was no public transportation, and on-campus jobs were competitive/reserved for students with work-study. She also noted that I didn't have that much work experience but the job description stated that current college students can apply and they will train on the job. I also have experience working as a receptionist/office assistant for 5 months. The first interview went well that she wanted a second interview the next day so I was happy. After the second interview, she asked for four letters of recommendation, two from someone personal (a statement on character reference), and two from a former boss. I think this is a lot for a part-time job. The internship that I did before which was through the city that I reside in only asked for one letter of recommendation when I applied. This job also pays minimum wage but in my last retail job, I got paid over minimum wage. I don't want to burden my friends who are all working full-time, full-time students and working for their time to write a character reference letter. I am also still in contact a few of my former bosses but not the bosses I had for my recent jo