Try searching for something else

Try searching for something else

Discussion

I’m overwhelmed with all the work I currently have as a mechanical engineer, I don’t think I can take this anymore and I’m about to quit to start working two jobs as a cashier or something with less stress.

15 days ago

|

I used to have a good job, minimal responsibility, supporting others with their work, and then I got “promoted” to a position with tons of responsibility and I had minimal training. There are so many regulations, processes and tribal knowledge that exists that I don’t think I can possibly handle this anymore. I’m in a dark spot. Unmotivated to continue working as an engineer, sitting behind a desk researching for hours or days to get one thing done that would have taken someone with experience an hour to complete. I need to change jobs, but I’m not even sure where to go or what I want to do, so I am considering just quitting and picking up enough money to float me until I can figure out what the hell I need to do with my life. Part of me just wishes they’d fire me, or tell me that my performance is downright not cutting it and they need to demote me to anything but this, or lay me off, I honestly don’t care. But i know it is killing me right now, mentally and emotionally.

Want to comment? or with one click.

Comments
  • akorn77

I'm in a similar position. I'll be quitting soon. My health is not more important than money. Everything happens for a reason. We are living in unprecedented times - thinks will work out eventually. Hang in there

15 days ago

Edit

You have reported this post

• Buzzkutt