Try searching for something else

Try searching for something else

I’m tired of being shamed for having “less than” jobs.

9 months ago

|

I have a college degree and initially when I first got it, I didn’t have 1) experience or 2) a car to get to my job. So I walked to work at Walmart. And now each time when I apply for jobs, I ALWAYS get asked “Um... so you worked at Walmart? Why is that?” Or a general “hmm that’s weird” kind of vibe. So what was I supposed to do? Sit home and collect unemployment? I’m so sick of the mentality of “I’m too good for THAT job” that so many college graduates seem to have.

Want to comment? or with one click

Comments

Edit

You have reported this post

FuzzArtist

There's no shame in work. Any work. All work has dignity, even working at Wal Mart. Tell the haters to go pound sand

9 months ago

Edit

IamEzcanor

Like I always say work is work.

9 months ago

Edit

Glassfern

Worked at Target. The trick is to read over the job posting, and pick out what hard and soft skills you learned at Wal-Mart that would carry over to your new job. Things like time management, customer service, conflict resolution, team delegation, risk management, point of sales or troubleshooting technology are just examples.

9 months ago

Edit

Jacam13

This is excellent advice!

9 months ago

Edit

BettyBornBerry

Tell them that working there will get you money to pay for your daily expenses.

9 months ago

Edit

optigon