Try searching for something else

Try searching for something else

My position is being advertised for more than what I make. How do I bring this up without losing my job?

21 days ago

|

Some background info: I work in education as a teacher’s aide. Due to short staffing, my employer posted job advertisements to find additional aides on Indeed. The pay is advertised as $29,000- $33,000 per year. I only make $29,450. I’ve been working in the same position for 5 years. The job description mentions a certified teacher is preferred, but not required. I am not certified, but this is an aide position that does not require teaching new material, only reviewing material with students. I’m disappointed to see my pay is nearly the lowest in the range, even though I have demonstrated I’m a great employee. I speak Spanish and often translate for students/ parents for free. Lately, I’ve been required to modify lesson plans/ assignments for the students on my caseload with no help or guidance from the certified teachers. However, I receive no planning time to do so. How do I broach the subject without sounding demanding? I feel like they are going to use my lack of certification as a cop out, but it’s really not needed. Through working for 5 years, my experience trumps any certification I could have.

Want to comment? or with one click

Comments

Edit

You have reported this post

BobPeterje

It happens a lot. Bring it up with the person who decides your pay. They may care, they may not. I've seen it both ways.

21 days ago

Edit

This. And this is why people job hop - because they can earn more money simply by moving on. Put a case forward for why you deserve more money. If they don’t go for it then look for another, higher paying position.

21 days ago

Edit

queen-of-carthage

Apply for it, lol

20 days ago

Edit

Skyeeflyee